Journal of Biological Physics and Chemistry

Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Jeremy J. Ramsden (University of Buckingham, MK18 1EG, UK; fax: +44 1525 841220; e-mail: jeremy.ramsden@buckingham.ac.uk).

Deputy Editor: Prof. David Mikeladze (Institute of Physiology, 14 Gotua Street, 0160 Tbilisi, Georgia; fax: +995 32 94 10 45; e-mail: davit_mikeladze@iliauni.edu.ge) neurobiology.

Academic Secretary: Prof. Lali Shanshiashvili (Institute of Physiology, 14 Gotua Street, 0160 Tbilisi, Georgia; fax: +995 32 94 10 45; e-mail: lali_shanshiashvili@iliauni.edu.ge) neurochemistry, protein chemistry.

Production Editor: Ms. Victoria Kechekhmadze (Batumi, Georgia) tatake16@gmail.com
 

Members of the Editorial Board

Prof. Nugzar Aleksidze (Faculty of Biology, Tbilisi State University, 3 University Street, 380028 Tbilisi, Georgia; e-mail: ros1001@ip.osgf.ge) neurochemistry, memory, lectins.

Dr Stéphane Alexandre (Laboratoire "Polymères, Biopolymères, Membranes" (PBM), UMR 6522 CNRS / Université de Rouen, 76821 Mont-Saint-Aignan CEDEX, France; fax: +33 235 14 67 04, e-mail: Stephane.Alexandre@univ-rouen.fr) Langmuir-Blodgett films, lipid membranes, interactions between biomolecules and films of amphiphile polymers and polymerizable amphiphiles, atomic force microscopy, soft matter, biofilms, enzyme kinetics, (bio)chemical oscillations.

Prof. Henri Atlan (Human Biology Research Centre, Hadassah University Hospital, Ein Karem, Jerusalem, Israel; fax: +972 2 642-1203; e-mail: atlan@ehess.fr) cell biology and immunology, information theory, artificial intelligence, philosophy of biology.

Prof. R. Stephen Berry (Department of Chemistry, The University of Chicago, 5735 South Ellis Avenue, Chicago, IL 60637, USA; e-mail: berry@uchicago.edu) complex potential surfaces, dynamics and folding of proteins and other biomolecules and the origin of their behavior at the level of interparticle forces, and analysis of complex systems.

Dr Marcello G. Cacace (Istituto per lo Studio dei Materiali Nanostrutturati, CNR, Via G. Mameli 21, 53100 Siena, Italy; e-mail: mcacace@bo.ismn.cnr.it) molecular mechanisms of enzymes, proteins, carbohydrates,solute-solvent interactions, biopolymer structure, metabolic pathways.

Dr András Dér (Institute of Biophysics, Biological Research Centre, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, POB 521, 6701 Szeged, Hungary; fax: +36 62 433 133; e-mail: Derandra@nucleus.szbk.u-szeged.hu) bioenergetics of membrane proteins, electric and absorption signals, enzyme kinetics, bioelectronics.

Dr Ariel Fernández Stigliano (Morgridge Institute for Research, Inc., PO Box 7667, Madison, WI 53707-7667, USA; e-mail: ariel@morgridgeinstitute.org) in silico biology; protein folding dynamics; nanoscale engineering from in silico information, statistical mechanics of biological macromolecules; chemical and biochemical kinetics.

Prof. Gabor Forgacs (Department of Physics and Biology, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO 65211, USA; fax +1 573 882 4195; e-mail: forgacsg@missouri.edu) mechanical properties of cells and tissues, intracellular signal transduction, morphogenesis, physical mechanisms in early embryonic development, computer simulations of biological processes.

Prof. Ramaz A. Gakhokidze (Department of Bioorganic Chemistry, Iv. Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University, 3 Chavchavadze Ave, 0128 Tbilisi, Georgia; e-mail: rgakhokidze@gmail.com) natural products, bioregulators, philosophy of science.

Dr Pavel A. Grigoriev (Institute of Biophysics of Cells, Russian Academy of Sciences, 142290 Puschino, Moscow Region, Russia; fax: +7 096 779 0509; e-mail: greegorjev@mail.ru) lipid mono- and bilayers, model ion channels formed with polypeptide and polyene antibiotics in lipid bilayers, electrochemistry, electromechanical properties of biological and model membranes, action of electromagnetic and ultrasound irradiation on biological and model membranes.

Prof. Dr. Helmut Harbrecht (Departement Mathematik und Informatik, Universität Basel, Rheinsprung 21, 4051 Basel, Switzerland; fax: +41 61 267 2695; e-mail: helmut.harbrecht@unibas.ch) partial differential equations, wavelets, adaptive methods,shape optimization, inverse problems, quantum chemistry.

Dr Graham Holt (Collegium Basilea, Hochstrasse 51, 4053 Basel, Switzerland; e-mail: grahamc.holt@ntlworld.com) complex systems.

Prof. Nodar P. Kekelidze (Laboratory of Materials Science, Tbilisi State University, 3 Chavchavadze Avenue, 380028 Tbilisi, Georgia; fax: +995 32 232-689; e-mail: nnkekelidze@geo.net.ge) optical (ultraviolet, visible, infrared) spectroscopy, far infrared (Fourier) spectroscopy, EPR spectroscopy, MR spectroscopy, ultrasensitive calorimetry, laser luminescence.

Dr Téa Kekelidze (Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research, Inc., WSJ-386.13.26, 4056 Basel, Switzerland; fax: + 41 61 324-7877; e-mail: tea.kekelidze@novartis.com) brain-energy metabolism, creatine kinase, creatine metabolism, nmr spectroscopy, neurotransmitter transporters, drug discovery, translational/clinical research, model systems, molecule/target/disease links.

Dr François Képès (Epigenomics Project, Genopole, Tour Evry 2, 10th Floor, 523 Terrasses de l'Agora, 91034 Evry Cedex, France; fax: +33 1 69 47 44 37; e-mail: Francois.Kepes@epigenomique.genopole.fr) complex systems, computational evolution.

Dr George Klein (MTC, Karolinska Institutet, POB 280, 171 77 Stockholm, Sweden; fax: +46 8 330-498; e-mail: Georg.Klein@ki.se) tumour immunology, cancer cell genetics, tumour virology.

Prof. Akihiro Kusumi (Department of Biological Science, Nagoya University, Chikusa-ku, Nagoya, 464-8602, Japan; fax: +81 52 789-2968; e-mail: akusumi@bio.nagoya-u.ac.jp) single molecule biophysics, biological membranes, cytoskeleton.

Prof. Giorgi Kvesitadze (Durmishidze Institute of Biochemistry and Biotechnology, Georgian Academy of Sciences, David Agmasheneblis Kheivani, 10 km, 380059 Tbilisi, Georgia; fax: +995 32 25-06-04; e-mail: kvesitadze@hotmail.com) enzymology, microbial transformations, ecobiotechnologies.

Prof. Stephen Leeder (Menzies Centre for Health Policy & School of Public Health, Rm 323, Victor Coppleson Building (D02), The University of Sydney, New South Wales 2006, Australia; e-mail: stephen.leeder@sydney.edu.au) public health and community medicine.

Prof. Dr. Vladimir M. Mirsky (Lausitz University of Applied Sciences, BCV-Nanobiotechnology, 01968 Senftenberg, Germany; fax: +49 3573 85809; e-mail: vmirsky@hs-lausitz.de) bilayer lipid membranes, membrane electrostatics and ion transport, self-assembled monolayers, biosensors, phospholipases, photodynamic effects.

Prof. Jamlet Monaselidze (Institute of Physics, Georgian Academy of Sciences, 6 Tamarashvili Avenue, 380077 Tbilisi, Georgia; fax: +995 32 53-69-37; e-mail: jamlet_monaselidze@yahoo.com) physical thermodynamics, molecular biology, genetics.

Prof. Carel Jan van Oss (Department of Microbiology, School of Medicine, SUNY, South Campus, Buffalo, NY 14214-3000, USA; fax: +1 716 829-2158; e-mail: cjvanoss@acsu.buffalo.edu) interfacial interactions, kinetics of protein adsorption, ligand-receptor binding, Lifshitz-van der Waals, Lewis acid-base and electrical double layer interactions, particle, cell and biopolymer interactions.

Dr Julian Talbot (LPTMC, Tour 24, Boîte 121, 4 Place Jussieu, 75252 Paris Cedex 05, France; e-mail: talbot@lptl.jussieu.fr) statistical mechanics, molecular modelling, kinetics and thermodynamics of protein adsorption.

Dr Ibtisam E. Tothill (Cranfield Health, Cranfield University, MK43 0AL, England; e-mail: i.tothill@cranfield.ac.uk) analytical biochemistry, molecular recognition, sensors and diagnostics.

Prof. Paul Watts (Research Chair in Microfluidic Bio/Chemical Processing, InnoVenton: NMMU Institute for Chemical Technology, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, PO Box 77 000, 6031 Port Elizabeth, South Africa; fax: +27 41 504 9281; e-mail: Paul.Watts@nmmu.ac.za; web: http://innoventondcts.nmmu.ac.za) organic synthesis, biosynthesis, enzymes in synthesis, electrochemistry, microreactors, new technology in synthetic chemistry.

Prof. Richard C. Willson (Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Houston, TX 77204-4792, USA; fax: +1 713 743-4323; e-mail: willson@uh.edu) kinetics, energetics, nucleic acids, aptamers, calorimetry, fluorescence, molecular recognition, immunochemistry, bioseparations, biosensors.

Prof. Toshio Yanagida (Osaka University Graduate School of Medicine (A4), Department of Physiology and Biosignalling, 2-2 Yamadaoka, Suita, Osaka 565-0871, Japan; fax: +81 6 6879-3628; e-mail: yanagida@phys1.med.osaka-u.ac.jp) molecular motors, kinesin, myosin, cell signals, total internal reflexion fluorescence microscopy, optical tweezers, single molecule imaging, nano-manipulation.

Prof. Tengiz Zaalishvili (Institute of Biological Physics and Molecular Biology, Georgian Academy of Sciences, 12 Gotua Street, 380060 Tbilisi, Georgia; e-mail: admin@biophys.org.ge) molecular biology.